Legal & Governance

Legal Credentials

Greystone Theological Institute is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization whose organizational and financial reports are accessible at our Guidestar profile.


Greystone has been formed to advance confessional Reformed catholicity through rigorous scholarly training, focused student and clergy mentorship, and collaborative research at the postgraduate level.

The Institute is free from control by any particular denomination and is governed by a Board of Directors who are members in good and regular standing in confessional Reformed communions. Greystone welcomes students from many denominational affiliations and none, but it exists principally to assist churches and seminaries or divinity schools prepare students for scholarly or ministerial service within confessional Presbyterian and Reformed churches. Members of the Board, faculty, and administration are individually under the jurisdiction of the various church courts of the denominations to which they belong.

All fellows and lecturers who teach Greystone modules sign a Statement of Confessional Adherence pledging not to teach or insinuate, in their module, anything in contradiction to what is held in common by the Westminster Confession of Faith and Catechisms, the Three Forms of Unity, and the Anglican Formularies.

As an intellectual community with educational and collaborative goals, Greystone oversees the work of two research centers, sponsors translation and editing publication projects, publishes an annual journal with occasional supplementa, and runs small-scale events such as lectures and seminars as well as full-scale course modules.




Chair: The Rev. Dr. Mark A. Garcia, Ph.D., Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Greystone President, Greystone Fellow, and Presbyterian minister

Vice Chair: Ms. Jessica Doerfel, Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Greystone Senior Administrative Director

Dr. Atria A. Larson, Ph.D., St. Louis, Missouri
Greystone Chief Adviser to the President on Academic Affairs, Greystone Fellow, and Medievalist

Secretary: Mr. Jonathan Stark, Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Teacher and Presbyterian elder

Treasurer: Mr. John Holt, CPA, CGMA, Wexford, Pennsylvania
President of Holsinger Certified Public Accountants and former Presbyterian elder

Mr. Michael Sacasas, Winter Park, Florida
Greystone Fellow, Teacher, and Presbyterian elder

To contact a member of the Board, please email the Institute at and indicate "Board" in the subject line.

accreditation & standards



Greystone Theological Institute is not a school and does not confer degrees. Greystone clusters various modules into unaccredited certificates. Greystone also partners with accredited institutions of higher learning for accredited degrees granted not by Greystone but by the accredited institution. Greystone is not itself an accredited institution. 

Unless otherwise indicated, Greystone modules are carried out at an advanced postgraduate level (advanced Master's degree or PhD) and focus on vocational training for ongoing research, ministerial development, and scholarly productivity.

Academic Standards

As an institution of higher learning and research, all Greystone courses are taught by fellows and lecturers who have completed a terminal academic or research degree in their field (Ph.D., Th.D., D.Phil.) and are active in teaching or research. In the event a course is taught by a lecturer lacking a terminal degree (but holding, for example, the Th.M.  or M.Phil.), and in other special circumstances, the lecturer shall have expert knowledge of the subject matter and the course shall be co-taught with a lecturer holding the terminal degree qualification (Ph.D.). All programs are open to all qualified students, both men and women.

Nondiscrimination Policy

Greystone Theological Institute admits students of any race, color, national, and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the Institute. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and other institute-administered programs.